Local | Bridges as Art

Syracuse is currently going through a transition. There is a large movement going on, called “The Westside Initiative.” Basically the downtown area of Syracuse is being revamped to support art, culture, technology, green thinking, and the like.

This is especially exciting to me, not only because I’m an artist, but because the area in question includes my street. I’m very excited to be able to be a part of the artist community as it comes together.

A few artists came together to transform the train bridges that pass over West Street. The painted short sayings in an effort to bring new life to the old, rusty scenery. The project is called “A Love Letter to Syracuse.

The sayings include:
• I paid the light bill just to see your face
• Now that we are here nowhere else matters
• Spring comes Summer waits Fall leaves Winter longs
• Nothing to do is everything with you

I pass under these bridges everyday on my way to and from work. I think it was a great idea and I hope more artists open themselves up to similar opportunities in the near future. This is a great step for Syracuse. I can’t wait to see what it turns into.

Here is a video of the thought being and process of creating “Love Letters to Syracuse.” | Video

Leave a Reply

