Saving Smarts

I recently finished a “Financial Literacy” course through the SSIC as part of my small business/entrepreneur development program. It made me think a lot about my money and what I’m doing with it.

I decided to share some of my money saving experiences and hopefully inspire some of you to start saving smart!

So, here’s my first story:

I’ve been in the market for a new printer for a while, since my old one stopped working in December. It was an Epson R1800 large format 13″x19″ printer that I bought in 2005 for about $600. It’s now obsolete and rather than spending the money to attempt to get it fixed I thought I’d look for a new one.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford another $600 printer, so I kept going back and forth on whether or not I needed one right away. As it turned out I did and needed to make a decision. I found the Epson Workforce 1100. It’s a large format 13″x19″ printer uses 5 different ink cartridges (costs about $85 for a full set) compared to the 8 I needed before (costs about $130 for a full set) and was available for $179.99!

Whenever I make an online purchase I always search for available online coupons. Sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. But this time I found one that saved me $18.99! And on top of that, after my purchase I got a 10% off coupon for my next purchase. Which will come in handy when I have to buy new ink and paper.

So the moral of this story is:

  • Search around. Sometimes a lower model is just as good as the “fancy” one.
  • Do a quick search for online coupons. You never know what you’ll find.
  • Save e-mails with offers from companies you use. Those savings add up and can be put to a good use later on. =)

Check out Me’Shae’s (my instructor) blog about her savings from 2010. It’s pretty interesting: Click here

Leave a Reply

